Bailly: “Dream draw”

Antwerp, October 15, 2022 – The first round of the European Open promises fireworks right away with some great matches. We have a Belgian cracker with Goffin against Bailly. Geerts plays against Thiem. Some other matches also catch the eye, such as Wawrinka against Gasquet.

Gilles Arnaud Bailly (17) was the innocent hand for the draw. And some nice games came out of it. A full list can be found below and attached. Bailly will take on Goffin on Tuesday (not before 7 p.m.).

Gilles Arnaud Bailly: “This is a dream come true. I was hoping for two names beforehand to play against: Murray and Goffin. It’s fantastic to come out against David. I have already learned a lot from him. I also look up a lot from him and I followed him with special attention during the Davis Cup, for example. We have a bit of the same style of play. Such a draw does create a lot of adrenaline. It was also a bit of a wait until my name came out, but so I am hugely satisfied with this opponent.”

Tournament Director Dick Norman: “With Goffin and Bailly, the two greatest Belgian talents are coming into action against each other right away. They are two strong baseline players who will make for a brilliant match. Geerts has a difficult opponent in Thiem. Bergs unfortunately has to drop out due to injury. In the doubles, too, we already have some great matches right away, with pretty tough matchups for our Belgians.”


[1] H. Hurkacz (POL) – Bye
J. Draper (GBR) vs. J. Brooksby (USA)
[WC] M. Geerts (BEL) vs. D. Thiem (AUT)
M. Huesler (SUI) vs. [6] F. Cerundolo (ARG)
[4] K. Khachanov – Bye
M. Giron (USA) vs. S. Korda (USA)
A. Murray (GBR) vs. J. Munar (ESP)
Qualifier vs. [8] Y. Nishioka (JPN)
[7] B. van de Zandschulp (NED) vs. Qualifier
[WC] S. Wawrinka (SUI) vs. R. Gasquet (FRA)
[WC] G. Bailly (BEL) vs. D. Goffin (BEL)
[3] D. Schwartzman (ARG) – Bye
[5] D. Evans (GBR) vs. T. Griekspoor (NED)
C. Lestienne (FRA) vs. Qualifier
Qualifier vs. A. Rinderknech (FRA)
[2] F. Auger-Aliassime (CAN) – Bye




[1] J. Cabal (COL) / R. Farah (COL) vs. T. Griekspoor (NED) / B. van de Zandschulp (NED)
R. Klaasen (RSA) / M. Melo (BRA) vs. [WC] X. Malisse (BEL) / D. Schwartzman (ARG)
[4] N. Mahut (FRA) / E. Roger-Vasselin (FRA) vs. N. Lammons (USA) / J. Withrow (USA)
[WC] R. Bemelmans (BEL) / A. Blockx (BEL) vs. H. Nys (MON) / J. Zielinski (POL)
F. Cerundolo (ARG) / M. Gonzalez (ARG) vs. S. Arends (NED) / D. Pel (NED)
A. Erler (AUT) / L. Miedler (AUT) vs. [3] K. Krawietz (GER) / A. Mies (GER)
D. Evans (GBR) / J. O’Mara (GBR) vs. M. Giron (USA) / S. Korda (USA)
S. Gille (BEL) / J. Vliegen (BEL) vs. [2] R. Bopanna (IND) / M. Middelkoop (NED)

The Flemish government joins with the city of Antwerp through Event Flanders to make this top event possible. Event Flanders operates within Tourism Flanders, but is a collaboration between Tourism Flanders, the Department of Foreign Affairs, the Department of Culture, Youth and Media and Sport Vlaanderen.